Stepping Stones

Stepping Stones
Life at Stepping Stones Life at Stepping Stones Life at Stepping Stones Life at Stepping Stones Life at Stepping Stones

Safeguarding

Safeguarding and child protection is a high priority at Stepping Stones School. Our Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy can be found on the Policies page here.

 

Our Safeguarding Team is:

 

Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL):

Julie Goodyear, Director of Safeguarding, Welfare and Pastoral Care, julie.goodyear@steppingstones.org.uk 

 

Deputy DSL Lead:

Nanci Doyle, School Nurse nanci.doyle@steppingstones.org.uk 

 

Deputy DSLs:

Ben Bastin, Assistant Headteacher, Undershaw ben@steppingstones.org.uk 

Sarah Hatherall-Good, Assistant Headteacher, Tower Road sarah.hatherall-good@steppingstones.org.uk 

Katherine Bourne, Family Liaison Officer katherine@steppingstones.org.uk 

Clare Wickens, Job Coach clare.wickens@steppingstones.org.uk 

 

 

Prevent Strategy

As part of Stepping Stones School’s ongoing safeguarding and child protection duties we are fully behind the Government’s Prevent Strategy.

 

Prevent is part of CONTEST, the Government’s Counter-Terrorism Strategy. The main aim of Prevent is to stop people becoming terrorists or supporting terrorism. Prevent focuses on all forms of terrorist threats for example international terrorism and far right extremism.

 

The Government’s Prevent Strategy can be found at their website.

 

Joint Procedures for Sharing Information on Domestic Abuse

The Police via Children’s Services will alert the Designated Safeguarding Lead at Stepping Stones School that a domestic abuse incident has occurred at the home of a child. We will respond to this alert which will be logged and relevant staff will be advised on a need to know basis in order to monitor the child’s welfare. Stepping Stones School will work with all agencies to support individuals who are affected by domestic violence and abuse.